White Earth Reservation Tribal Council

Public Relations PO Box 418, White Earth, MN 56591

News Release POC: Gary W. Padrta 218-983-3285 Ext. 5903 gary.padrta@whiteearth-nsn.gov

Tuesday, June 9, 2020 #20-06-02

Michael Fairbanks re-elected as White Earth Chairman

WHITE EARTH, MINN. – White Earth Reservation held their Primary Election on Tuesday, June 9. Six certified candidates ran for Chairperson and 11 competed for District III Representative. Both positions are four-year terms. The election was originally scheduled for March 31 but was moved to June 9 for safety reasons due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Here are the <u>unofficial</u> results for the top two candidates for each position:

Chairperson

Michael Fairbanks (Incumbent) 967 / 57.53% Kenneth R. Fox Jr. 392 / 23.32%

District III Representative

Eugene (Umsy) Tibbetts (Incumbent) 302 / 36.39% Cheryl "Annie" Jackson 124 / 14.94%

Since Fairbanks won the election with more than 50 percent of the vote, he is automatically re-elected as chairman. The top two candidates for District III Representative will now move on to the General Election scheduled for August 18. The election results are expected to be officially **certified** on Wednesday (June 10) afternoon.

Attachment: White Earth Reservation (unofficial) Primary Election results.

WHITE EARTH RESERVATION

LAURIE YORK

PRIMARY ELECTION
June 9, 2020

UNOFFICIAL ELECTION RESULTS

June 9, 2020																			
o obaabiganika	RICE LAKE	BE.JOU.	BEAULIEU	PINE BENT	MAUSEL MA	MAYTAHIM	MAHMONNE	OGEMA	WHITE	PINE PORT	EL.80W, 1.	Call Land	MARINE		CASS LOLIS	IN PERSON	ABSENTEE	TOTAL	%
CHAIRPERSON																			
PATRICIA PAT MORAN	5	0	0	2	0	2	1	0	12	4	1	6	0	4	2	1	10	50	2.97%
PAMELA R. ASPINWALL	2	0	1	0	2	3	2	0	4	4	1	3	3	8	4	15	18	70	4.16%
JOSHUA KENT	0	1	2	2	3	2	6	4	11	0	0	0	0	0	1	9	6	47	2.80%
KENNETH R. FOX, JR.	32	3	3	18	9	109	32	15	62	18	1	13	0	7	22	37	11	392	23.32%
MICHAEL FAIRBANKS	60	5	4	7	27	95	30	27	165	81	18	65	6	54	82	104	137	967	57.53%
MARTHA WILLIAMS	10	0	2	0	0	10	13	11	24	6	2	18	8	7	2	17	25	155	9.22%
DISTRICT III REPRESENTATIVE																			100.00%
DAVID ENGLUND	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	5	19	8	0	17	0	1	0	1	2	53	6.39%
EL'GENE (UMSY) TIBBETTS	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	18	80	45	13	16	8	14	22	13	73	302	36.39%
MARY OTTO	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	9	35	14	1	25	1	7	2	11	8	113	13.61%
AMELIA BRAY-BITSIE WEAVER	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	12	0	0	1	0	3	1	3	1	22	2.65%
CHERYL "ANNIE" JACKSON	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	5	75	11	3	9	2	4	4	8	3	124	14.94%
LEIGH (LEE) HARPER	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	6	0	0	0	2	1	1	1	11	1.33%
DAVID GREENE, JR.	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	1	0	0	11	0	0	0	3	1	17	2.05%
CHAR ELLIS	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	5	9	14	0	4	0	9	0	1	1	43	5.18%
RALPH GOODMAN JR.	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	4	7	0	0	0	2	2	1	1	17	2.05%
JODAN ROUSO	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	7	0	0	9	0	1	1	1	2	21	2.53%
	0	0					•	7	27	7	2	40	1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	1	B. 2000		24	107	12 900/

CERTIFICATION

12.89%

We, the undersigned Election Officials of the White Earth Reservation do hereby certify the above abstract to be a true and accurate reflection of the votes cast in the Primary Election held on Tuesday, June 9, 2020. We further certify that said election was conducted in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribes, the White Earth Reservation, and Election Ordinance #10.

SIGNED